Yesterday I found this ‘hapa’ stuff. It’s interesting to see many ‘mixed’ people. But I guess nowadays it is normal and not difficult to find a multiracial person around. In fact in some societies it’s rare to find any uniracial persons. We siblings are sort of ‘mixed’ too though when we were kids we did not know about that. Now as time goes, we understood finally why there were some weird questions in the past, like, “Why is your eyebrow short half way? Did you shave it? You know in Islam it’s haram?” and things like this. Living in Kelantan, it’s super weird to the people. I remember feeling irritated when anyone asked me “Where are you originally from?”. My sister, Lela, got the most ‘confusing’ face. She has travelled to many places in the world and people made many guesses of her race which ranges from Arab, Indian, Pakistani, Chinese, and Israeli. Hahaha (remembering her funny stories).

My father. He is half Bugis and half Jawa. But unfortunately he doesn't know bahasa Ugi or Jawa.

My father. He is half Bugis and half Jawa.
But unfortunately he knows neither bahasa Ugi nor bahasa Jawa. The cute kid is my nephew. He is smart.

An old photo of my mom. Her father got a Cambodian (Indochina) descedancy. Her mother got a Kashmiri blood.

An old photo of my mom. Her father got a Cambodian (Indochina) descendancy. Her mother got a Kashmiri blood.

Well, it is interesting, at first, to learn about this fact. But at last, we will come to realization that we are but a result of God’s Power and Might. We are as our Lord sees us.

 

But I really hope I can be as brave as my Bugis great grandfathers.

Leave a Reply

